Review #2 : Almost Adulting by Arden Rose

What is this? Two33296246 book reviews in a row? Yeah this girl just finished yet another book which has honestly made me feel so much. I have been following Arden on YouTube for years. She was always one of those youtubers I would get excited to watch when it popped up in my newsfeed. She was relatable to teen me (though I’m still young) and I felt like I knew everything about her through her youtube videos.

This book changed my whole perspective on her as well as my perspective on being an adult. I know this book isn’t everyone’s cup of tea. I almost didn’t write a review for this book, but I decided to take Arden’s advice from the book which is to do what makes me happy. This book basically explains all the situations we have going into adulthood. She talks about sex (yes sex the taboo topic we all avoid talking about), how it’s okay to have long distance friendships/relationships or even online friendships, how it’s okay to feel sad, and a lot of other things that sum up being an adult.

The things I have taken from this book that I know I will remember are that life is going to give you curve balls even if you don’t want it to. It’s going to be hard no matter what you tell yourself. It’s okay to cry even if it’s in the goodwill parking lot. Your emotions are your emotions and you shouldn’t let other people make you feel like shit for them. Your opinion about your body is the only opinion that matters. You should love the body that you were born with and it’s okay if you want to improve your body by eating healthier or working out. It’s okay to go to therapy if your depression is consuming you. This book honestly made me cry. It made me realize some of the bad habits I had that were bringing me down. She went through the same things. I was able to relate to someone and that was what made the book four stars for me.

“We’re tough as shit and we’re going to make it”

Rating: 4/5 Stars | Read April 1st – April 8th

Additional Information

Goodreads Link

Pages: 208

Genre: Nonfiction

Synopsis:

For fans of Grace Helbig and Alexa Chung comes a fresh, hilarious guide to growing up your way from social media influencer and lifestyle vlogger Arden Rose.

In Almost Adulting — perfect for budding adults, failing adults, and eaters of microwave mug brownies — Arden tells you how to survive your future adulthood. Topics include:

-Making internet friends who are cool and not murderers

-Flirting with someone in a way to make them think you are cool and not a murderer

-Being in an actual relationship where you talk about your feelings in a healthy manner??? To the other person???????

-Eating enough protein

-Assembling a somewhat acceptable adult wardrobe when you have zero dollars

-Going on adventures without starting to smell

-How sex is supposed to feel, but, like, actually though

By the end of the book — a mash-up of essays, lists, and artwork — you’ll have learned not only how to dress yourself, how to travel alone, how to talk to strangers online, and how to date strangers (in PERSON!), but also how to pass as a real, functioning, appropriately socialized adult.

Advertisements

One thought on “Review #2 : Almost Adulting by Arden Rose

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s