Kdrama Review : Color Rush

I want to diversify my content this year especially moving forward with this blog. I have decided to sprinkle in some reviews regarding shows and movies I watch especially because it has picked up due to the pandemic. I want to gush about this adorable eight episode kdrama called Color Rush. It’s a BL drama surrounding two boys trying to navigate their feelings for each other. The main character suffers from a type of color blindness where they see everything in shades of gray. Well, the love interest is able to provide him this rush of color whenever they are around each other.

The main reason why I decided to watch Color Rush was to support Hyunjun who was formerly with the group The Boyz. This was his first acting gig since leaving the group. The show does have a few problematic plot lines. The kidnapping that happens towards the end was not a surprise, but it was resolved rather quickly. The ending felt rushed, but I understand that they only had so much time to fit all the concepts into eight episodes. This is also one of the first BL and kdramas I have watched so I kept my expectations pretty low. The chemistry between the characters felt a bit odd in the earlier episodes, but it seemed to pick up more towards the end.

I do want to mention trigger warnings for suicide, attempted suicide, murder, and kidnapping. The main character’s mother has been missing for a few years so there’s this sense of dread for the main character. There’s also a theory in the world that monos (people who can only see shades of grey) are more likely to commit crimes if they lose the person who shows them the colors of the world. This is a huge plot line that runs throughout the series that fuels a lot of the actions. Overall, I do recommend this series if you want something that is super quick and easy to watch.

Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman Review

30809689Whoa what can I say? I’m addicted to mythology based books. You might have noticed through my various mentions of Percy Jackson. I was beyond excited to see that Neil Gaiman was writing a mythology book.  I picked this book up as an audio book simply because Neil Gaiman narrated it. This is the first time I have ever really enjoyed an audio book. I felt intrigued as I listened along to the tales. It felt like I was right there as he told the stories. I could imagine Thor, Odin, Loki, and the multiple giants.

I really enjoyed the story. I think it brings to life characters that we are sort of familiar with. I definitely think this is a good book for people who are new to mythology. It’s very easy to understand, the tales are fantastic, and every story connects in a way.

Overall, I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys mythology or interested in learning more about it. Norse Mythology is very interesting and easy to understand. The audio book is superb. I also recommend that.

“The Norse myths are the myths of a chilly place, with long, long winter nights and endless summer days, myths of a people who did not entirely trust or even like their gods, although they respected and feared them.” 

Rating: 4.5/5 | Read: November 1 – 5

Additional Information:

Goodreads Link

Pages: 299

Genre: Fantasy

Synopsis: 

Introducing an instant classic—master storyteller Neil Gaiman presents a dazzling version of the great Norse myths.

Neil Gaiman has long been inspired by ancient mythology in creating the fantastical realms of his fiction. Now he turns his attention back to the source, presenting a bravura rendition of the great northern tales. In Norse Mythology, Gaiman fashions primeval stories into a novelistic arc that begins with the genesis of the legendary nine worlds; delves into the exploits of the deities, dwarves, and giants; and culminates in Ragnarok, the twilight of the gods and the rebirth of a new time and people. Gaiman stays true to the myths while vividly reincarnating Odin, the highest of the high, wise, daring, and cunning; Thor, Odin’s son, incredibly strong yet not the wisest of gods; and Loki, the son of a giant, a trickster and unsurpassable manipulator. From Gaiman’s deft and witty prose emerges the gods with their fiercely competitive natures, their susceptibility to being duped and to dupe others, and their tendency to let passion ignite their actions, making these long-ago myths breathe pungent life again.

What’s New Wednesdays

This will be a new segment on my blog that I might do once or twice a month. It’s basically a segment where I focus on something new that I have discovered recently and have either enjoyed or hated enough to talk about it.

BeFunky Collage.jpg

I want to talk to you about zines. You might be asking yourself what the heck are Zines, Emmie? Well that is what I’m here to talk to you about. It’s basically a very short self published piece of work. It can range from just poems to artwork to short stories depending on who you are buying from.

The two that I have had the honor of reading were both curated by Ariel Bissett who is a popular youtuber. She made a whole video on zines about six months ago. It was through her that I realized that it sounded cool. I just never got around to actually looking for any to read online. Zines are those things that are a bit of a hidden gem. You are lucky if you can find them in person. I was ecstatic when I realized Ariel made hers available to purchase in PDF form. I devoured these short little zines in ten minutes, and I just every minute of it.

Puffin Food – This zine focuses on the fear of failure in art which I can relate to. I can’t say that I’m an artist, but I do enjoy making art. I just don’t feel too comfortable showing anyone because I know I’m not at that level. This zine has photography, comics, poems, short stories, and little drawings sprinkled throughout the ten pages. Ariel made this little project with a few other people showcasing their work in this lovely little piece. I highly recommend giving this one a shot.

NonSpon – This zine focuses on why people can’t just genuinely love things without saying  “This isn’t sponsored”. You will noticed throughout the zine that it is mostly little paintings Ariel did of her favorite items. I really enjoyed this one because the artwork was cute. The message behind the paintings spoke volumes to me because we live in a society now where everyone is shouting out that they weren’t sponsored.

I am hoping to dive more into the world of zines. It’s a nice little break from reading full length novels. Have you read any? Do you have any you would recommend?

Top 5 Wednesday : Books To Video Games

BeFunky Collage

  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline – This one is kind of a no brainer. The whole basis of the story is around video games and 80’s references. I think it would be a fun video game in a video game kind of situation.
  • Gotham Academy by Becky Cloonan, Brenden Fletcher, & Karl Kerschl – I think this would be fun to play in a video game form. You could explore Gotham Academy as Olive who is the main character. You could go behind the walls, explore tunnels, and deal with mysterious creatures.
  • More Than This by Patrick Ness – Boy what I would pay to play this game because it would be a sick sci-fi game. You wake up in an unknown dystopian world. You have no idea what is going on. You have to escape bad guys and rescue the people you care about.
  • iZombie by by Chris Roberson, Mike Allerd, Laura Allred, & Todd Klein – I’m talking about the comic version of iZombie not the tv show version because they ruined the tv version. You would get to play as any of the characters. Each one would have their own story line. It would be a pick a situation and hope no one dies kind of game.
  • Paper Girls by Brian K. Vaughn, Cliff Chiang, & Matthew Wilson – I just really love time travel related things. This would definitely be a fun sci-fi game that would involve time travel and my favorite era the 80’s.

You can find out more about Top Five Wednesdays using this link which will take you to the goodreads group.

Review #2 : Almost Adulting by Arden Rose

What is this? Two33296246 book reviews in a row? Yeah this girl just finished yet another book which has honestly made me feel so much. I have been following Arden on YouTube for years. She was always one of those youtubers I would get excited to watch when it popped up in my newsfeed. She was relatable to teen me (though I’m still young) and I felt like I knew everything about her through her youtube videos.

This book changed my whole perspective on her as well as my perspective on being an adult. I know this book isn’t everyone’s cup of tea. I almost didn’t write a review for this book, but I decided to take Arden’s advice from the book which is to do what makes me happy. This book basically explains all the situations we have going into adulthood. She talks about sex (yes sex the taboo topic we all avoid talking about), how it’s okay to have long distance friendships/relationships or even online friendships, how it’s okay to feel sad, and a lot of other things that sum up being an adult.

The things I have taken from this book that I know I will remember are that life is going to give you curve balls even if you don’t want it to. It’s going to be hard no matter what you tell yourself. It’s okay to cry even if it’s in the goodwill parking lot. Your emotions are your emotions and you shouldn’t let other people make you feel like shit for them. Your opinion about your body is the only opinion that matters. You should love the body that you were born with and it’s okay if you want to improve your body by eating healthier or working out. It’s okay to go to therapy if your depression is consuming you. This book honestly made me cry. It made me realize some of the bad habits I had that were bringing me down. She went through the same things. I was able to relate to someone and that was what made the book four stars for me.

“We’re tough as shit and we’re going to make it”

Rating: 4/5 Stars | Read April 1st – April 8th

Additional Information

Goodreads Link

Pages: 208

Genre: Nonfiction

Synopsis:

For fans of Grace Helbig and Alexa Chung comes a fresh, hilarious guide to growing up your way from social media influencer and lifestyle vlogger Arden Rose.

In Almost Adulting — perfect for budding adults, failing adults, and eaters of microwave mug brownies — Arden tells you how to survive your future adulthood. Topics include:

-Making internet friends who are cool and not murderers

-Flirting with someone in a way to make them think you are cool and not a murderer

-Being in an actual relationship where you talk about your feelings in a healthy manner??? To the other person???????

-Eating enough protein

-Assembling a somewhat acceptable adult wardrobe when you have zero dollars

-Going on adventures without starting to smell

-How sex is supposed to feel, but, like, actually though

By the end of the book — a mash-up of essays, lists, and artwork — you’ll have learned not only how to dress yourself, how to travel alone, how to talk to strangers online, and how to date strangers (in PERSON!), but also how to pass as a real, functioning, appropriately socialized adult.