We Are Okay by Nina LaCour Review

28243032.jpg

I am not even sure if I can put my feelings into words about this book. I am going to start off with the fact that this book was beautiful. I know that is has gotten mixed reviews around the interwebs since it released. I personally found it to be a very beautiful book. You meet this girl called Marin (cute name I know) who has had a shit couple of months. The character of Marin is extremely relatable because she suffers from anxiety. I felt like I could relate to those moments in the book where she didn’t want to get in the elevator because the elevator could get stuck or having to find things to say while her friend came to visit. She’s a very real character at least to me she’s a very real character.

The book isn’t really meant to be something happy. I think it shows the struggles of having anxiety and how to cope with it even though it’s hard. Marin didn’t do such a great job with coping with it, but you can see how she has improved throughout the book in small ways. I had a lot of sad moments with this book. I cried a lot especially towards the end of the book when you find out a major plot twist. I won’t spoil it for anyone because I think it is something you need to experience on your own.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I felt like I could really relate to Marin and the things that she had to deal with throughout the book. The ending didn’t involve a romance which really made me happy. This book does focus on some LGBT aspects which I felt added a bit more to the novel. This books focuses more on familial relationships which I admired because it’s rare to see in novels. I recommend this book to anyone who is on the hunt for a good bring me to tears kind of novel.

“I was okay just a moment ago. I will learn how to be okay again.” 

Rating: 5/5 Stars | Read August 4th – August 6th

Additional Information

Goodreads Link

Pages: 234

Genre: Young Adult

Synopsis: 

You go through life thinking there’s so much you need…

Until you leave with only your phone, your wallet, and a picture of your mother.

Marin hasn’t spoken to anyone from her old life since the day she left everything behind. No one knows the truth about those final weeks. Not even her best friend, Mabel. But even thousands of miles away from the California coast, at college in New York, Marin still feels the pull of the life and tragedy she’s tried to outrun. Now, months later, alone in an emptied dorm for winter break, Marin waits. Mabel is coming to visit, and Marin will be forced to face everything that’s been left unsaid and finally confront the loneliness that has made a home in her heart.

3 thoughts on “We Are Okay by Nina LaCour Review”

Leave a comment